Agnus Castus: Agnus Castus Support – when things are too good to be true…

A friend sent me a link to this product (Agnus Castus Support) after listening to a lecture by Dr Marilyn Glenville recently.

This Agnus Castus supplement contains the most important and highest quality organic herbs which have enjoyed widespread popularity among women for centuries.

60 vegetarian capsules.

Ingredient list:

1 capsule per day provides the following amounts

Agnus castus 206mg
Black cohosh 147mg
Skull cap 88mg
Milk thistle 59mg

 

From the ingredient list I was unable to establish if the 206mg of AC was whole herb or extract – you need around 20mg standardised extract, which is equivalent to  (approximately) 200mg whole herb for it to be effective – therefore I emailed Dr Glenville.

Dear Dr Glenville,

A friend of mine sent me a link to your Agnus Castus product as she knows I am passionate about recommending this herb for PMT and blog about it regularly. However, since the EU legislation, getting the right dosage of Agnus Castus has become very difficult as THR (which most companies have applied for) restricts the amount to 4mg (standardised extract 10:1). I am therefore interested to know how the amount of AC used in your product compares to the standardised extract. From my understanding 20mg is equivalent to approx 200mg whole herb. 20mg has been found in research trials to be the lowest dose that is effective. A lot of women visit my blog looking for advice about where to get AC from and so far I have only found one supplier still producing 20mg tablets. It would be great if I recommend another supplier.

I look forward to your reply,

Two days later I received a reply that seems to suggest this product does contain the right dosage of Agnus Castus.

 

Thank you for your email.

I have always found that combinations of herbs are extremely helpful because of the synergistic effect between the herbs.  NHP’s Agnus Castus Support is not my product but it contains whole herbs and not extracts so the mgs on the label are those for the whole herb. And the herbs are organic where possible.

In the clinic, I always prefer capsules rather than tablets as tablets will have binders added to the ingredients and even with capsules for herbs or vitamins and minerals I want those that do not contain excipients such as anti-caking agents and lubricants like magnesium stearate.

I hope this is helpful.

Kind regards

Marilyn

However, the email also said that the product is not one of Dr Glenville’s, but is made and sold by this company NHP. I went over to the NHP site and found the product, but I couldn’t confirm if the ingredients quoted on Dr Glenville’s site were what was in the tablets.  Luckily they had a Live chat box – so I asked the question there.

NHP: Hello, thank you for visiting. Can I help you in any way?

Me: can you tell me the mg of each herb in this supplement please

NHP: Hi there

Me: Hi, can you tell me the mg for each herb in this supplement

NHP: if you click on the ingredients list under the image it will tell you

Me: I can’t see an ingredients list. it doesn’t have one.other products do, but not this one

are you still there NHP?

NHP: my apologies, bear with me and I will find them for you

Me: thank you

Based on my previous experience, I couldn’t help but be suspicious. Neither Boots or Holland & Barrett informed either their sales staff or customers that the dosage of Agnus Castus had been reduced from 20mg to 4mg. However, NHP came back with the same list of ingredients as on Dr Glenville’s site (and I had already confirmed the Agnus Castus component was whole herb and therefore at the right dosage).  It was looking good, but I still wanted to confirm beyond doubt the ingredients as stated were the ones on the bottle, so I asked this question.

Me: One final question. The ingredient list you quoted did you get that from the actual bottle? I am concerned you are quoting the pre 2011 ones and the mg have been reduced as a result of legislation.

NHP: The ingredients I gave you are correct. i have passed this onto our in house nutritionist and have asked her to come back to you tomorrow. The office is now closed, I will ask the nutritionist to email you tomorrow with regards to your query

Me: Then it sounds like a really promising product. I have around 6000 hits a month on my blog for women looking for a product with the correct dosage. It would be great if I could recommend this product as so far I have only found one supplier who still sells the higher dosage.

NHP: no problem, lets speak tomorrow

Me: Great, I look forward to it. I will be posting our conversation on my blog so other women can see what your product contains.

So far my suspicions had appeared unfounded. I was getting excited. Here at last was another product, which contained levels of herbs that actually worked. However, I wondered how they were able to do this since the EU legislation. Unfortunately the person on the other end was not able to give this information and admitted they didn’t know they THR from their PL.

Me: the reason I ask is since EU legislation in 2011 I was under the impression that Agnus Castus was restricted to no more than 4mg (52mg whole herb) under THR. Does this product have a product license instead?

If not how are you able to sell it? Is it old stock? I and many women are desperate to get supplements at the right dosage and forgive my questions but I have yet to find a UK supplier who is able to do this as they have all opted for THR not PL>

NHP: all of our products have been approved by the HMRA

we did have to withdrawer our Black Cohosh Support for a while but we have now reformulated it. We have not been asked to withdraw our Agnus Castus

Me: I am sure they are. I am not questioning your integrity, rather than am keen to know if I can recommend your supplement on my blog. I need to be sure the agnus castus component is correct. Does this product have THR or PL?

NHP: no problem, maybe if you contact me directly I can give you some more info (email address removed on NHP’s request)

I am not familiar with THR or PL, I can ask somebody to come back to you if you email me directly with your enquiry.

Fair enough. I wouldn’t expect sales staff to know the ins and outs of EU legislative policy, but then they said this …

NHP: I would rather you did not post our conversation on your blog, please wait to hear back from the nutritionist

Me: Now I am wondering why not, if the ingredients you stated are the ones listed on the product. I am not trying to catch you out, rather i am trying to share information with women on where they can get this product from at the dosage recommended in research trials

NHP: we regard any conversations we have on Chat Box as confidential due to the highly personal issues people discuss with us on here.

Me: I won’t use your name then, or show your email. That should cover confidentiality. Me, I am not concerned, I have blogged about my ongoing battles to get Agnus castus and other herbs properly recognised ever since 2011.

SILENCE

Me: Thanks for the chat. I look forward to hearing from the nutritionist tomorrow. Can also ask that you reinstate the ingredient list under the product so it is clear how much of each herb the product contains. If it is less than quoted this does need to be made clear as research trials have shown for agnus castus that below 200mg whole herb it is not effective and I don’t want women buying something that doesn’t work.

SILENCE

Me: Have you gone?

Make of it what you will. However, I would be cautious about buying this product until the ingredients can be confirmed. I am also wondering why they did not want me to share this information on my blog, surely as a profit making company they would want to shout about this product. I am also interested to learn why they have not listed the ingredients under this product, as they do for their other products.

 

So let’s see what tomorrow brings… ever hopeful…

If anyone has tried or plans to try this product, I would love to know whether it helped with symptoms.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Agnus Castus: Agnus Castus Support – when things are too good to be true…”

  1. Thanks Juliet I have contacted you before and originally started on the boots AC (5 a day) and started seeing a clear improvement not only in mood but lack of pre mens bloatedness and other monthly aches and pains. However after approx 2-3 months I was finally able to get hold of AC from another supplier you had mentioned. These tablets were tiny and only one a day! However about 6 -8 weeks down the line I am now not seeing the same benefits so is this….
    A) i had a great placebo effect from the boots ones….they are red after all!
    B) these new ones really do not match the dosage -you have to wonder how they can cram the same into such a tiny tablet when the boots ones are so much bigger and have a fifth the dose!
    Maybe something else too good to be true?
    Thanks

    1. Hi Dawson, I assume you are talking about the tablets from Prime Health Direct. You are not the first person to mention how small they are. I really don’t know how to answer your question. For me they are effective, or have been, the last couple of months I have had more pain than usual – but sometimes I forget to take them. This month I am making sure I am consistent. But I have been taking this brand for two years and generally my PMT symptoms have been controlled. There is a growing acknowledgement that the placebo effect is a powerful component in drug therapy (and is exploited by marketing e.g. making pills in different colours). It could well be true that part of the relief you experienced was down to placebo. My advice would be to give the Prime Health Direct ones 3 months and the reassess. I may well be experiencing the placebo effect myself, however I do know when Boots reduced the dosage without informing customers and I took one a day (not realising I was only taking 4mg not 20mg), my symptoms returned with vengeance- hence how I discovered the issue.

      Do come back with a further update. After three months on the PHD ones, you could then go back to the Boots ones (although five a day is expensive), and compare. It could be that Agnus Castus alone is not the answer for you and you research other options e.g. red clover.

Love to hear from you

