On Writing: Blog Hop

A writer who I admire for many reasons such as the way she brings her characters to life with so few words, gets to the raw truth of an experience and most importantly gets her novels out there (rather than stalling an moaning like me), invited me to take part in a blog hop.  Thank you Katie O’Rourke.

The simple principle for this blog hop is to answer a question about what I am writing and why and to link to two other writers blogs whom I rate.

Why are you working on the project you are writing now? Why is it important? (to you, or to the world, or…)

This is a painful question to answer as I am still working on a novel I started seven years ago and can’t seem to move on from. I think I know why it is important to me, although knowing doesn’t necessarily help.

1) It is based on my sister’s experience and she asked me to tell her story before she died (no pressure then).

2) I have had a number of agents interested (based on the partial MS) only to turn it down once they had read the full MS. This make me believe it has something, if only I could tell it right.

Whether it is important to anyone else (the world) I am hoping to find out by publishing it in serial chapters on this blog (see tab in top right hand corner – Forever In-between). If nothing else I will at least have got it out there to succeed or fail (subjective terms I know) and I can move forward.

Now onto the nice bit, giving a shout out to other writers who have been there for me (despite my pathetic track record of actually getting anything completed).

First off I would like to introduce Anne Goodwin and her blog Annecdotal which in her own words

is the persona through whom I navigate that in-between space both here and in the comments boxes on other blogs, with mutterings about reading and writing peppered with snippets of psychology and a quiet rage at social injustice and stolen childhoods.

I first read Anne’s writing on Your Write On and was blown away by her ability. I am honoured she counts me as one of her writing friends.

Secondly is a writer I met through the peer review site, Authonomy. Juli Townsend and I were part of the Women’s Fiction Critique group, but Juli, unlike me, has gone on to get her novel, Absent Children, published and I admire her tenacity and self-belief and wish it would rub off on me.

I know I am only supposed to nominate two writers, but there is one more shout out I must do. Stephen Gallup has written an incredible memoir about his son with a developmental disorder and the fight he and his wife faced to get him help.

Nobody knew what hurt little Joseph, and no one was offering a way to help him. He cried most of the time, and thrashed about as if in pain. He wasn’t learning how to crawl, talk, or interact normally. Doctors told his parents to seek counseling, because nothing could help their son, and the quality of their own lives was at risk. Refusal to accept that advice changed their lives forever. WHAT ABOUT THE BOY? A Father’s Pledge to His Disabled Son chronicles a family’s rejection of hopelessness and their commitment to the pursuit of normalcy.

6 thoughts on “On Writing: Blog Hop”

  1. Thanks for thinking of me, Juliet, and it’s great to be part of this blog hop.
    I enjoyed reading about the background to your novel. The wish to tell your sister’s story is a great motivator but it’s bound to make it more painful when agents don’t want to take it on. It’s a great story and good that you haven’t given up on it; perhaps you’ll get more readers this way.

    1. Hi Anne, thanks for stopping by. Yes, my goal is to be read and publishing the novel on here is my way of achieving that. I would have liked the agent and publishing contract, I am not going to pretend otherwise, but it was becoming too important. In the last year I have taken a step back and focused on another direction (started a doctorate). I am hoping this will help me to enjoy writing again and do it for that reason, rather than chasing a dream. If I am enjoying writing, then maybe the rest will follow.

  2. I’m afraid I still haven’t managed to do my post in response to your kind nomination for this blog hop, but I certainly intend to do so.
    But meanwhile, I’ve dumped another award on you (you can take your pick of Inspiring or One Lovely Blog or both) and have some good news of my own to share having finally found a publisher for Sugar and Snails – another three edits to go through before it’s out July next year.
    http://annegoodwin.weebly.com/annecdotal/lovely-versatile-inspired-and-inspiring-some-blog-awards-and-breaking-news-about-my-writing

    Hope you’re enjoying your course, I imagine fiction writing will take a back seat for a while but I look forward to your eventual return.

Love to hear from you