On family: You’re a long time dead

The comings and goings of almost adult children brings instability, an ever-changing family scape. One leaves for a year and then returns, another has just left for university, and another (my nephew) has moved in.  On top of that we got a new puppy (it seemed like a good idea at the time).

I am feeling overwhelmed – like I should be attending to multiple things, only I am not quite sure what those things are (except when I am just about to fall asleep). I don’t like this edgy sensation, but I also know this flux is going to continue for a good while yet, so I am going to have to get used it, or run away and hide.

beach hut

I remember my mother talking about wanting to live all by herself in a beach hut by the sea when I was the same age as my children are now. At the time I didn’t get it and thought her desire both ridiculous and selfish. Now I just want to bang on her driftwood door and be allowed to enter her haven of order and certainty.

There is some research that suggests that lifetime happiness is shaped like a U, decreasing steadily until the age of 44 before rising again. Other research correlates happiness with the age of your children, dropping as they reach teenage years only to rise again once240098_10151212539561346_156497008_o they leave home.  However, I am not sure what happens when you reach forty-four at the same time as your children leave home, but also come back again, and you add another one (and a puppy) into the equation.  Am I heading for my happiest or unhappiest year yet? Will I even have time to notice?happy U

And then I am reminded of the saying; be happy while you’re living, for you’re a long time dead.

It is so easy to get caught up in the minutiae of life, to rush from one task to another without considering just how invigorating change and instability can be. So things are little manic right now. But before I know it, the children will be gone, the puppy grown, and all I will be left with is a perfectly ordered home and deep yearning for the past, unless I too embrace this state of flux, go with the flow and see where it takes me, rather than wishing everything could remain the same. There’s plenty of time for that, but only when I am dead.

6 thoughts on “On family: You’re a long time dead”

  1. Awww Julilet, you are not alone. In just one day I have been sad, restless, happy, uncertain, hopeful, scared and very very tired. Since I’m in the same age bracket with similar circumstances, give or take a kitten/puppy or two, could I join you for a cuppa at the beach hut? T x

  2. It’s always so refreshing to see other people who are walking where you are. Thanks so much for sharing this! Prayer and Jesus have been my companions through this and I am starting to enjoy new things in my life. I’ll pray some amazing new doors open for you as well. God Bless You!

Love to hear from you

