On writing: some nice news

Not career making, but nice all the same to find out a short story I wrote about a pig in a schoolyard made the Mslexia short story competition shortlist of fifty.

a little happy dance
a little happy dance

It’s given me a boost and I have reworked the opening chapters of my newly named novel ‘The replacement wife’ and posted them on Authonomy. There is a link at the top of the page if you are interested. Now all I’ve got to do is get up the guts to send it out again.

rejection

4 thoughts on “On writing: some nice news”

  1. Congratulations on the shortlist! We all need a ‘jump-start’ from time to time, and I am encouraged that this has given you the impetus to carry on with that novel of yours. Like the new title, by the way.

  2. Congratulations and always nice to share good news. I’ve had a quick peek at the new novel and glad to see it’s a revision of the old and shaping up well. I like how you’ve given Rebecca a more serious side.
    Like your cartoon by the way, might need to borrow it.

  3. Thanks Anne – glad you like the changes I have made in characterisation. After mulling over the feedback I received for a few months, I think I am clearer on how to move forward with the revisions.

Love to hear from you

