Anti-aging secret:but which is it?

. DSC05761 (2)

20121222_170401An age spot on my left cheek has completely disappeared, and the seborrhoeic keratosis (benign warty growth) on my back, which the doctor said was due to age, has fallen off. On top of that the form of arthritis I have suffered from since childhood, ankylosing spondylitis, which necessitates taking Voltoral daily, seems to have put itself in remission. I haven’t taken a painkiller for over two months, and have not once woken with back pain or stiffness.

What the hell is going on?

Two major changes took place in August at around about the same time. My wonderful, energetic, annoying, make-up and clothes borrowing (stealing), daughter, left home and is currently living and working in Honduras. And…

I started the 5:2 diet. Which means I eat normally five days a week, and fast on two days (one 500 calorie meal).

So which is it that has led to the turning back of time?

Well, the daughter is back in August 2013, and I intend to keep fasting twice a week for the long term, so I guess this time next year, I will have my answer. If the age spot is back; I am out of energy; have a back covered in warty growths; and am popping pills for pain, then the only option will be to kick the daughter out for good.

Anyone else tried the 5:2 diet? If so what changes, aside from weight loss, have you noticed?

6 thoughts on “Anti-aging secret:but which is it?”

  1. Never heard of it. I’ve never embraced diets but I believe in short term fasting – I used to routinely fast one day a week when I was younger. I’m going to look into this one.

  2. I’m on the 2nd week of this diet and already lost 4 lbs. I don’t expect to lose 2lbs every week but I think this is a diet I can stick at without getting bored or being to anti-social … I’ll let you know 🙂

  3. Just read this, so I’m sorry it’s late. Is it reasonable to assume that for 2 days a week your consumption of wheat is severely reduced? I’ve experienced massive health benefits by giving up all grains, (except maize, which I think is a fairly special case, and rye crispbread – both fairly gluten-free, as it happens). Modern dwarf wheat is, in the opinion of many, one of the two biggest health disasters of the 20th century (the other is the McGovern Report, warning off fat and on to carbs).

    I recommend “Wheat Belly” for the details, but, in short:
    – every time wheat is crossed, the number of chromosomes double, with unpredictable results
    – dwarf wheat has a protein which, unlike other wheats, stimulates the opiate receptors of the brain – making you hooked!
    – grains in general, but dwarf wheat in particular are thought to be the main causes of IBS and Crohn’s disease, and leaky gut syndrome.
    – wheat is more glycemic than a Snicker’s bar! For people (like me) who are insulin sensitive this means that the blood glucose rises quickly and is almost immediately converted into fat. The insulin crashes, hunger ensues, and overeating hence obesity is the result.
    – the constant glucose/insulin cycle renders you liable to diabetes, which is a prelude for the unlucky to pancreatic cancer.

    I gave up bread years ago after decades of intermittent IBS. I sleep better, my mood is better. If you are eating less wheat, this could be why you feel healthier!

Love to hear from you

